Home

Starting my essay research I want to understand fashion, art and photography, what are their relationships together. I picked out a few books to flick through to help me find information that will support my arguments and claims during my research, not only that but give me ideas for direction in terms of Final Major Project. One of the books I came across was by Valerie Steele – ‘Fashion, Italian Style’, in the section of Art and Industry in the Early Twentieth Century, it was a really good read.

Reading I learned about the heritage of some major fashion houses and to research into artists that collaborated with Fashion Designers, such as: Elsa Schiaparelli with Salvador Dali and Jean Cocteau. I also want to do some research on the ‘Manifesto of Futurist Women’s Fashion of 1920’s’, that was mentioned a few times in this section of the book. This research will help me understand the relationship between artist and designer, how it was established, this could help me argue my question of ‘Who Stole The Show?’.

Leave a Reply

